Clinical subtypes of multiple sclerosis and the immuno-pathogeneses

Kazuo Fujihara

Research output: Contribution to journalReview articlepeer-review


Multiple sclerosis (MS) is a demyelinating disease of the central nervous system (CNS). MS is classified into clinical subtypes, such as relapsing-remitting MS, primary and secondary progressive MS, benign MS and malignant MS. In Japan, the classification based on the lesion distribution is also commonly used. There are two subtypes in this classification, conventional MS, in which demyelinating plaques are disseminated within CNS, and optic spinal MS, or relapsing neuromyelitis optica, characterized by the selective involvement of the optic nerves and spinal cord. Clinical manifestations and MRI findings of the clinical subtypes and their immuno-pathology are reviewed with emphasis on the unique features of Japanese MS.

Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)1293-1299
Number of pages7
JournalNippon rinsho. Japanese journal of clinical medicine
Issue number8
Publication statusPublished - 2003 Jan 1

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Medicine(all)


Dive into the research topics of 'Clinical subtypes of multiple sclerosis and the immuno-pathogeneses'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this